Monday, January 25, 2016

We Have Moved

A Midlife Wife has moved to its new site located at A Midlife Wife and I would love it if you would stop by.

You will find some great posts on all things a midlife gal deals with - low carb living, fitness over 40, beauty tips and products, books and reviews, recipes and so much more.

If you are following my feed here, please make sure to sign up for my new feed on the other site. Thanks for your support. See you over there!

Chris

Sunday, January 17, 2016

Love in Lowercase By Francesc Miralles

Every once in a while you come across a book that really makes you think about what you just read. It is easy to fly through a book and get the general message, but this one... this is one that will sneak up on you a few days after you close the cover. I was pleased to be able to review this new book release that has been making waves across the world and is now in America.

Love in Lowercase By Francesc Miralles cover

LOVE IN LOWERCASE By Francesc Miralles
A Penguin Paperback Original; January 26, 2016
ISBN; 9780143128212
A romantic comedy for language lovers and fans of The Rosie Project, about a brainy bachelor and the cat that opens his eyes to life’s little pleasures

When Samuel, a lonely linguistics lecturer, wakes up on New Year’s Day, he is convinced that the year ahead will bring nothing more than passive verbs and un-italicized moments—until an unexpected visitor slips into his Barcelona apartment and refuses to leave. The appearance of Mishima, a stray, brindle-furred cat, becomes the catalyst that leads Samuel from the comforts of his favorite books, foreign films, and classical music to places he’s never been (next door) and to people he might never have met (a neighbor with whom he’s never exchanged a word). Even better, the Catalan cat leads him back to the mysterious Gabriela, whom he thought he’d lost long before, and shows him, in this international bestseller for fans of The Rosie Project, The Solitude of Prime Numbers, and The Guest Cat, that sometimes love is hiding in the smallest characters.

My Thoughts on Love in Lowercase


Sometimes when you deal with books that are translated you end up with some strange sentences and thoughts along the way. That I what I was thinking about this quirky little book, until I let it all seep in after I finished it. This book tells a story about a sad little man who is stuck in his own pathetic little life. He does the same thing over and over, day in and day out - Eats the same foods. Has the same thoughts. Teaches the same subjects. Lives in his own little world. Until the day a cat snuck into his home and refused to leave. Then things started to change for Samuel.

This book delves into a unique look at what changes can happen to someone when you open your eyes and see the world in a different way. You meet new people and start to see things in different ways because of their views and beliefs. You start noticing things around you that you have never realized before. You look at people in a new way. You can start to have hope for a future and maybe, just maybe, find someone to love, even when you are eccentric and a bit weird.

This book is a bit different from what we are used to reading. A bit tongue in cheek, somewhat humorous, and definitely quirky, this book does leave you with everlasting hope that people can change if they open themselves up to new experiences and not be afraid to be yourself.


Disclaimer: Chris has personally reviewed the product listed above. She has not received any monetary compensation for her review but did receive a free product to try out so she could evaluate and use it for this post. Her thoughts & opinions in this review are unbiased & honest and your opinions may differ.


Saturday, January 16, 2016

Tropical Fruit N Yogurt Smoothie Recipe

When you are watching the foods that you eat, you also have to be aware of the sugars too. I love fruit but they have a lot of additional sugar that I don't need in my diet. Sugar converts into carbs and since I eat low carb, I try and cut sugar out as much as possible. So the juices that I make and drink don't usually have a lot of fruits. However, once in a while I will enjoy a juice smoothie for breakfast and include some tasty fruit with it to make a wholesome meal replacement or mid-day snack. This is my hubby's favorite type of juice! I wonder why....

Tropical Fruit N Yogurt Smoothie Recipe

Tropical Fruit N Yogurt Smoothie Recipe


Ingredients:

1 cup frozen tropical fruit blend
5-6 Fresh or frozen strawberries
1 cup Dannon Vanilla Yogurt
1/2 cup fresh Orange Juice
8 oz. Filtered water

Directions:

Blend all together and adjust water for a nice smooth consistency.

I love using fresh fruits as often as possible but in the off-season, frozen works great too. Plus I freeze some fruits during the summer that I can use in my blends. The taste of summer in a cup!

Enjoy!